Reviews

Summary
4.8

Super stay at Sturdy’s Castle - Rating 5/5

We had read the reviews so were optimistic that everything would be OK. It was better than OK - the room was immaculate and spacious and despite being near a busy road we didn’t hear any traffic noise at all. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with a good selection of offerings. Some people may not like having to pre-book time and food choice the night before but it all made for a slick service in the morning. All the staff were lovely, professional but very personable.We wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again and were only sorry we were only there for one night.

Reviewer: Jan W | Fri 19th Jul 2024 | 21 hours ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Found the sturdy by accident after my usual hotel let me down with exorbitant prices and really glad they did.Location really easy to find, hotel looks just like it does in the picture and doesn't disappoint when you get inside. Bar/dining area is really welcoming, staff are friendly and food is good. I usually only stay one night but I can see you would be comfortable staying more nights in the rooms as they were clean and well equipped with everything you would need. Overall I would rate this as "definitely stay again!."

Reviewer: Graham S | Wed 17th Jul 2024 | 2 days ago


Welcoming, clean & good value for money - Rating 4/5

I should mention we were on the first floor, and there wasn't a lift; and there were problems with the hi-fi and TV.However, we were able to overlook this, because we were given such a warm welcome; the room was clean, and was excellent value for money.

Reviewer: Barbara M | Fri 12th Jul 2024 | 1 week ago


A very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly helpful staff particularly Dianne and Aria.Avery good pub with rooms serving very good quality food at dinner and breakfast.Clean basic rooms with comfortable but slightly narrow single beds. No lounge but some comfortable chairs in restaurant.

Reviewer: Manon T | Mon 1st Jul 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Lovely, friendly inn - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay, the food was excellent particularly the Indian food - best we have for some time. The room we had was a good size, bed very comfortable. Although next to a main road it was very quiet, great double glazing. Minor complaint - perhaps darker curtains or black out curtains would be a help, especially with the lights on in the car park, seemed to be light all night!The staff are very helpful and friendly.Sturdy's is well located for Blenheim palace which was the purpose of our trip this time.Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again in due course. Thank you.

Reviewer: Teresa W | Fri 28th Jun 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Decent Value - Rating 4/5

Large bedroom & bathroom, good shower, decent breakfast, nice beer, average food

Reviewer: Jonathan S | Tue 25th Jun 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Room was clean and very comfortable.Food was lovely and a good choice.Would stay there again.

Reviewer: Chris W | Sun 23rd Jun 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely few days. - Rating 4/5

Had a great few days. Great location for Blenheim Palace and Oxford. Food good. Staff helpful. Room comfortable with everything you need and very spacious. Only issue was lack of pillows- need to supply extra pillows for each guest. However this would not stop us staying again.

Reviewer: Alyson| Fri 21st Jun 2024 | 4 weeks ago


Plesant hotel. - Rating 5/5

Good location nice hotel,friendly staff good service. Comfortable rooms.A very hearty full english breakfast

Reviewer: David P | Thu 20th Jun 2024 | 4 weeks ago